ITILĀ® Intermediate Lifecycle - Continual Service Improvement

 4 Days
Delivery Methods
 VILT    Private Group

The ITIL Intermediate certificate in Continual Service Improvement (CSI) is a course that can be run over three or four days (depending upon the requirements of the training group). Delegates attending this course will gain a comprehensive understanding of ITIL Service Management as it applies to the Continual Service Improvement phase of the Service Lifecycle, aligned to the current version, ITIL: 2011. Delegates will also prepare for a 90 minute, complex multiple-choice examination. The course consists of lectures, detailed group exercises, discussions, examination technique training, and mock examinations. NOTE: This course will earn you 21 PDUs.


Upcoming Class Dates and Times

Coming Soon:
The next class is currently being scheduled. Need it now? No problem.
Contact us and we will help you get the training you need!

Who Should Attend

Delegates attending this course must have successfully achieved the ITIL: 2011 Service Management Foundation Qualification; your certificate must be presented as documentary evidence to gain admission to this course. Although there is no mandatory requirement, ideally candidates should have at least two years professional experience working in IT Service Management. The Continual Service Improvement Qualification would most likely suit the following candidates: -Chief Information Officers -Chief Technology Officers -General IT Management -Supervisor staff -Team leaders -Designers -Architects -Planners -IT consultants -IT audit managers -IT security managers -IT professionals involved in continual service improvement The above list is a suggestion only; individuals may wish to attend based on their own career aspirations, personal goals or objectives. Delegates may take as few or as many Intermediate qualifications as they require, and to suit their needs.

Course Objectives

    The purpose of the ITIL Intermediate certificate in Continual Service Improvement is to certify that the delegate has gained a thorough and detailed knowledge of the improvement principles, advanced concepts, and has comprehended the essential management requirements for practices in this phase of the Service Management Lifecycle. When the delegate has completed this course, they should be confident in their ability to approach core continual improvement activities, such as: -Learn how measurement leads to understanding which leads to improvement -Learn how to apply the key lessons and structures of the service improvement process -Effectively use Management Information to support proactive decision-making -Utilize analysis to identify improvement opportunities without implementing a full CSI practice -Map key component measures and process activities to Key Performance Indicators to high level goals to determine how value is delivered -Utilize service reporting to support strategic, tactical and operational decision making -Utilize key CSI principles to develop an economical improvement program -Understand the key role of technology in any improvement program -Master the key CSI methods and techniques to improve any IT operation -Balance the Critical Success Factors with known risks for improvement


1 - How to use the Continual Service Improvement Approach
2 - Key activities of the Seven-Step Improvement Process
3 - How to identify critical success factors, risks and challenges
4 - Measuring and reporting frameworks such as Balanced Scorecard and SWOT analysis
5 - Importance of Knowledge Management and Service Level Management in continual service improvement
6 - Creating Return on Investment
7 - Key measurements and service reporting